top header contact details

+2712 653 2629



The IPC/WHMA-A-620, Requirements and Acceptance for Cable/Wire Harness Assemblies, is the first industry consensus standard for cable and wire harness fabrication and installation and it is a joint project of IPC (Institute of Printed Circuits) and WHMA (Wire Harness Manufacturers Association). Originally released in 2002, and enjoyed almost immediate international acceptance. The IPC/WHMA-A-620 quickly became the most important process, materials and inspection standard for the cable and wire harness industry.

This standard describes test and acceptability criteria for producing crimped, mechanically secured, or soldered interconnections and the associated lacing/restraining criteria associated with cable and harness assemblies. An industry developed and approved program that includes training, certification and instructional materials based on the IPC-A-620 is available to your company. Three classes of products are defined and include criteria for Target, Acceptable, Process Indicator and Defect conditions, to support the collection of visual quality acceptability for all three classes. All these criteria are supported by full-colour illustrations.

Why earn IPC/WHMA-A-620 certification?

The certification will demonstrate your commitment to continuous improvement of product quality and reliability of your products to customers and will facilitate to ISO or other quality assurance initiatives. The CIT (Certified IPC Trainer) and the CIS (Certified IPC Specialist) programs provide individuals with a portable credential (certificate) that represents their understanding of IPC/WHMA-A620, and you will receive immediate recognition, legitimacy and value throughout the electronics industry. After successfully completing the program you will have the Title as CIS (Certified IPC Specialist)


CIT are trained to teach all of the modules to the CIS. In CIS training only Module 1 is mandatory to certify CIS, other modules may be covered, based on your company’s specific needs. The IPC/WHMA-A-620 application specialist training consists of the following 8 Modules:

  • Module 1 : Policies and Procedures
      • Forward (Chapter 1)
      • Preparation (Chapter 3)
      • Cable Assemblies and Wires (Chapter 11)
      • Test (Chapter 19)
  • Module 2 : Crimp Termination (Chapter 5)
      • Insulation Displacement Connections (IDC) (Chapter 6)
  • Module 3 : Soldered Terminations (Chapter 4)
  • Module 4 : Connectorization (Chapter 9)
      • Molding/Potting (Chapter 10)
  • Module 5 : Splices (Chapter 8)
  • Module 6 : Marking and Labeling (Chapter 12)
      • Wire Bundle Securing (Chapter 14)
      • Shielding (Chapter 15)
      • Cable/Wire Harness Protective Covering (Chapter 16)
  • Module 7 : Coaxial and Twinaxial Cable Assemblies (Chapter 13)
  • Module 8 : Solderless Wrap (Chapter 18)


The IPC/WHMA-A-620 Application Specialist course is most suited to quality personnel especially inspectors and quality engineers and managers.

This course is also relevant to anyone responsible for the quality and reliability of electronic assemblies including maintenance technicians, operators, process engineer’s buyers, sales teams and management.

How long is the duration of the Course?

The duration of the course will depend on which modules were identified by companies that must be taut. If all Modules are done the course duration is 5 days.

How the IPC/WHMA-A620 Certification Program Works

  • CIT (Certified IPC Trainer) will show slide shows on the specific modules and discuss in detail the specification.
  • Each Application Specialist training attendee will be provided with Application Specialist student training materials for use during the training class.
  • After each Module a written open book examination will follow, which will consist of a question and four possible answers. The most correct answer must be chosen.
  • Each participant that writes the exam must have 70% to pass.
  • Module 1 is the only mandatory module and Module 1 must be successfully completed before an individual can be certified in any of the seven optional modules.
  • Individuals that fail any written exams will be afforded one opportunity to re-assess after a study period not less than 24 hours.
  • Candidates who pass the course modules receive an IPC certificate of proficiency, indicating the areas of the IPC/WHMA-A-620 that were successfully completed.
  • Certification is only valid for 2 years and then a re-certification exam must be written before the expiry date (Same course material will be used).

>Download PDF